Mr. Mom: Stepping in the Shoes of a Housewife

October 7, 2011 astridmartin1116

After flipping through the channels on TV, I realized with shows such as desperate housewives , our pop culture,   has actually depicted a realistic point of view of one of the most unfair and underappreciated professions today—home making. However, when it comes to our society , our ideology about women as housewives are still stuck in a time capsule of the 50’s where mothers easily cook up the family meals, cut the crust out of our sandwiches and  joyfully do the house chores, which leaves the rest of the days to themselves. But this is only half of a housewives job description.

Just recently after reading a chapter of Valenti’s Full Frontal Feminism the work each housewife would earn if homemaking was in fact a paying job, would be $ 134, 121 a year. Reading this, I was shocked. Of course growing up and seeing my moms daily routines as a housewife, I already knew the amount of work stay at home moms had to do, but I never knew that work would amount to a salary greater than the countries average salary.

Then I started thinking…

Imagine!  You wake up in the morning, make breakfast, clean the dishes, drop the kids to school, clean the house, do laundry, pick up the kids from school, make dinner, and if you’re lucky, have a good night sleep. You wake up the next morning just to do everything all over again.   After a while, you could understand how exhausting a life of a housewife is like. Although many wives may seem like they have it all together, I wondered how would life be if a husband and wife switched places for a day. That is when I remembered one of my favorite movies–Mr. Mom (This movie is a must see for reasons more than just the funny Michael Keaton)

So with this note, grab your popcorn, sit on a couch, and relax  because you are about to take a journey that is both comedic and eye-opening at the same time.

The movie starts out with Michael Keaton’s character losing his job. As a result, he makes a deal with his wife to take care of the house chores while his wife goes to work. This compromise ended to be more of a handful than he thought.

After first watching Mr. Mom (I wish I was able to post the whole movie. sorry), I thought it was hilarious to have Michael Keaton’s character dabble with the job of a stay at home mom. The idea that this movie is made as a comedy, not only allows the viewer to enjoy the film, but also enlightens people on the difficulties housewives have to go through on a daily basis In one scene you see him fighting a vacume cleaner and in another you see him loosing his kids in the super market. As for the mother’ situation, she understands how easy it is to take advantage of her husband’s efforts and often feels guilty as a result.

All in all, the fact that an audience can see the difficulties in being a stay at home parent, whether you are a man or a women, teaches the  audience that pulling a family together is  difficult task that should be shared between two people. After all doesn’t sharing mean caring!

Information From:

Mr. Mom (1983)

“US mothers deserve $134,121 in salary,” Reuters Study, May 3 2006

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pined108  |  October 7, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    I think that although there are a lot of people who associate house wife as a mom from the 50s, I think that now most people would think of it as the Real House Wives. Which I think is the complete opposite of what mothers have to do on a day to day basis, and its true that this job is very unappreciated.

  • 2. Tawny Andersson  |  October 8, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    I come from a family of five where I am the second oldest child. When I was young I always saw my mom rushing from chore to chore in the house never having a moment to relax. She pushed herself to the limit everyday trying to make the house perfect for us and my dad. As my older sister and I started to get older we were able to help out more around the house and I think that is a very important thing that kids should be able to do for their parents. Eventually, when my younger brother no longer a baby my mom didn’t want to do the housewife thing anymore. She then divided up the respondsibilities amoung everyone and opened up her own volleyball club. Being a housewife is a lot of work and not very rewarding, I have so much respect for all of those women out there.

  • 3. jaclynhemphill  |  October 14, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    I think this is a great topic to bring up, because not many people think of all the hard work housewives do. They think it is an easy life, when in all reality it is very difficult. This made me be thankful for everything that my mom does, even though she is not a husewife.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts

 
