Misconceptions Behind the F Word

September 30, 2011 astridmartin1116

Today I am going to talk about the F word. One of the most controversial words a person could use— feminism.

Often times when people imagine the word feminism, the first images that pop up into a person’s mind are burning bras, man-haters, and for some reason hairy legs.  Although these may be unpleasant sights, the good news is that these images are not the true definition of feminism. As I was browsing through the dictionary, because I just love reading my dictionary on a Friday afternoon (sarcasm if you haven’t noticed),  I decided to come across the true definition of feminism–Noun: The advocacy of women’s rights on the grounds of political, social, and economic equality to men. As you can see there is no where that mentions anything about hairy women or burning bras for that matter. All feminists want is equality. What’s wrong with this?

Just recently Beyonce Knowles was interviewed and quoted saying “I don’t really feel that it’s necessary to define it. It’s just something that’s kind of natural for me, and I feel like… you know… it’s, like, what I live for. I need to find a catchy new word for feminism, right? Like Bootylicious.” Although I respect Beyonce as a person, I just don’t understand why women, even influential ones for that matter, are so afraid of being titled a feminist. It’s just a word. It shouldn’t mean anything.  After all  weren’t we taught that sticks and stones may break our bones, but words will never hurt us?

All I know now is that this was a great opportunity for Beyonce to go against what society says and become a new spokesperson for feminism. With this type of publicity, Beyonce would have been able to attract a bright new light on such an influential word for women.

Although I understand that nobody wants to be called a hairy man-hater, why should we focus on these negative connotations that were formed before many us were ever born? It’s the twenty-first century for crying out loud, it is time for us to make our own definition of the word feminist and be proud for being strong women who doesn’t let society push us around.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sheriece Hooks  |  October 7, 2011 at 11:02 am

    I agree with you completely, but i think many people don’t call themselves feminists because they do not know what a feminist is. I have asked a bunch of people and most of them had no idea. They just figured that it has something to do with women, so at that point many men said they cannot be a feminist. In the end, I think most people are feminists but they are just too confused or afraid to call themselves one.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

September 2011
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts

 
